We have an advertising relationship with some of the stores we link to on this site. Your prices are not affected!

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 Muslims are allowed to eat what is "good" (Qur'an 2:168) - that is, what is pure, clean, wholesome, nourishing, and pleasing to the taste. In general, everything is allowed (halal) except what has been specifically forbidden.

Foods not permitted

  1. Pork and its by-products e.g. gelatin, lipase, pepsin
  2. Meat from animals not slaughtered according to the Islamic dietary law
  3. Alcohol and foods prepared with alcohol e.g. candies and cakes that include alcohol such as rum cake
  4. Foods made with pure or artificial vanilla extract (vanilla is prepared with alcohol)
  5. Foods containing blood and blood by-products e.g. blood pudding
  6. Foods made with any of the following: whey prepared with non-microbial enzyme, rennet, animal shortening, monoglycerides and diglycerides from an animal source, sodium stearoyl-lactylate, L-cysteine.

For further information visit  The Muslim Food Board