We have an advertising relationship with some of the stores we link to on this site. Your prices are not affected!

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

A person keeps kosher if he or she follows the acceped Jewish Dietary Laws. Jewish Dietary Laws are based on  Biblical laws and rabbinical extensions. The following is a brief summary of these laws:

  1.  It is only those animals that are ruminant, that is they chew their cud and have split hooves can be eaten.
  2. For those animals that can be  eaten, the birds and mammals must be slaughtered in accordance with Jewish law.
  3. There are certain parts of permitted animals that may not be eaten.
  4. All the blood must be drained from the meat or broiled out of it before it can be eaten.
  5. Meat  that is the flesh of birds and mammals cannot be eaten with dairy and its prodcts
  6. Eggs, fruits, vegetables and grains are considered pareve#, and can be eaten with either meat or dairy. Fish is also considered pareve, but some kosher observant Jews do not eat fish with meat.
  7. Utensils that have come into contact with meat (while hot) may not be used with dairy, and vice versa. Utensils that have come into contact with non-kosher food (while hot) may not be used with other kosher food.
  8. All grape products made by non-Jews must not be eaten.

# Jewish dietary laws considers pareve food to be neutral;

A more detailed explanation can be found at Judaism 101